From before the days of colonial settlement to modern-day Tasmanian life, The Derwent Valley and New Norfolk has seen a significant slice of history.
Before colonisation by the British, the area now known as New Norfolk was occupied by the Leenowwenne clan, one of five clans of the Big River Nation. The Big River nation numbered 400 – 500 people consisting of five clans. Little is known of their seasonal movements although it is believed that four of the five clans moved through Oyster Bay territory along the Derwent River to reach their coastal camps near Pitt Water. The Oyster Bay People had reciprocal movement rights through Big River territory.
Lieutenant John Hayes of the East India Company sailed up the Derwent River and, when the river became too shallow, proceeded to row to a point just upstream from the present site of New Norfolk.
Hobart Town is founded at the mouth of the River Derwent.
Upstream from Hobart Town, around 500 free settlers from Norfolk Island establish the beginnings of New Norfolk.
During his visit to Van Diemen’s Land, Governor Macquarie has a surveyor map out the town and organise grants and leases. In honour of his wife, Governor Macquarie names the settlement “Elizabeth Town”.
The Bush Inn is built in town, and is among the very first pubs to be built in Australia.
The Turriff Lodge Homestead is constructed, serving as a country retreat for the Governor.
Pardoned convict Thomas Shone builds “Stanton” a Georgian homestead on land at Magra with convict bricks and labour. Today, the property is the popular Stanton Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast.
The first road linking Elizabeth Town with Hobart is built.
Soon after arriving in Elizabeth Town, John Terry constructs the region’s first flour mill.
Wanting to preserve a link with their heritage, the townsfolk rename the settlement “New Norfolk”.
St. Matthew’s Anglican Church is founded, and is the first church established in Tasmania.
The Bush Inn is first issued a license, starting an unbroken line of licenses up to present day.
Woodbridge was built by the first Chief Constable, Thomas Roadknight at a cost of over 1000 pounds. Now operating as the luxury accommodation establishment Woodbridge on the Derwent.
A movement to have New Norfolk be the colonial capital was vetoed – with Hobart receiving the title of capital.
By order of Governor George Arthur, the Willow Court infirmary is established as an asylum for sick convicts across Tasmania. The establishment later develops into the Royal Derwent Hospital.
The historic Tynwald country mansion is constructed in New Norfolk by John Terry.
On the Willow Court site, the now iconic Barracks were constructed. The Barracks were controlled by the military until 1955 when the government took over the administration.
The New Norfolk Post Office is established.
St. Paul’s Methodist Church is founded. Today it is St Paul’s Uniting Church.
The New Norfolk Post Office is established.
The first bridge for vehicular access across the Derwent River in New Norfolk is constructed. The tollhouse was built to collect payments.
New Norfolk becomes the home of the exiled Irish nationalist figure Terrence McManus – later joined by another exiled Irish nationalist, William O’Brien.
The colony of Van Diemen’s Land is renamed as Tasmania.
Tasmanian state legislature was passed for the creation of municipal councils to be formed. This led to the New Norfolk Municipal Council being established in 1863.
Salmon and trout are first successfully introduced to the southern hemisphere at the Salmon Ponds just upstream from New Norfolk.
After the destruction of the initial bridge, the second is built across the river in town – built mostly of timber and costing £4,169.
A new structure is built within Willow Court featuring a clock tower centrepiece – an iconic landmark for the town.
The first railway tracks reach New Norfolk as a part of the Derwent Valley Line. This combined with the use of steamboats, hydro-electricity and rich soil would later contribute to the timber industry boom in the region.
The first telephone trunk call in Australia is made between Hobart and New Norfolk’s Bush Inn. The telephone used to make this call still survives, mounted on the wall of the Bush Inn.
The Derwent Valley develops at a fast pace due to the access to railways, steamboats, hydro-electricity, rich soil and plentiful timber.
During her last visit to Tasmania, Dame Nellie Melba sings several lyrics from the opera “Maritana” at the Bush Inn.
The Pioneer Woodware Company establishes a peg factory, using locally-harvested timbers to become the country’s primary supplier of clothes pegs.
A new bridge of steel and concrete replaces the 50-year-old wooden bridge across the Derwent River. However, with low kerbing and no handrails separating traffic from pedestrians, the bridge posed a risk to those walking across.
The Boyer Mill is opened by Australian Newsprint Mills just downstream from New Norfolk, and produces the majority of Australia’s newsprint. This marks the beginning of a prosperous era for the region, as New Norfolk almost doubles in population.
The iconic clock tower in Willow Court is demolished during efforts to modernise the site for the Royal Derwent Hospital.
Modernisation of the Willow Court site is complete, with the Royal Derwent Hospital serving around 1,000 patients at the time.
The fourth and current bridge is completed, replacing its hazardous predecessor.
After 173 years in operation under various names, the Willow Court Royal Derwent Hospital closes.
The Boyer Mill is acquired by major Norwegian paper company, Norske Skog.